top of page
  • Writer's pictureTrue Blue Homeschool

About Me - My first blog post

Updated: Dec 22, 2017

Cannons, Cannons, Cannons!

My mom told me to "Fire away." Boom! Let's get started on my first blog on True Blue Homeschool.


This isn't the first time I have done a blog. I've been writing weekly posts on our private blog for about a year and a half.

Here, I'll be telling my perspective on homeschooling, travel, and more.


My name is Tom and I am 10 years old. My family and I love to travel - in fact, we have arranged to buy a pop-up travel trailer and at the time I am writing this we are in Australia - half-way around the world from where I live in the Rocky Mountains.

I am homeschooled and I think that homeschool is ten times better than traditional school for me. In kindergarten, I went to a traditional school and ever since then I have been homeschooled. In first grade, I went to an enrichment program where I went half day on Tuesday and Thursday. Then for second, third, and part of fourth grade I went to a different enrichment program where I went once a week for a full day on Fridays. Now that I am in fifth grade, I go to a nature program on Mondays. Other enrichment programs/activities that I do are:

* Nature Day - once a week, on Tuesday afternoons, I go to a program we call Nature Day. I meet up with a bunch of my friends and we have fun playing in nature.

* #TinkerCrates - about one time per month a building project arrives in the mail. Inside there are two boxes - a Tinker Crate for me and a Doodle Crate for my sister. In the crate there is a project with instructions. The projects vary from trebuchets to 3D views and more.

* Prodigy - on online math-based video game. In Prodigy, you are a wizard and you answer math questions to cast spells. I love Prodigy and I am the highest level you can be - level 100.

* #PoetryTeaTime - Once a week, on Thursday afternoons, I meet up with my friends AJ and AH for Poetry Tea Time. In Poetry Tea Time, everyone takes turns reading poems and then we eat snacks and a special drink like tea or lemonade.

* #GamEdAcademy - GamEd is a learning program with six-week courses on various subjects. So far I have completed courses in Science, Geography, Binary Math 1 and 2, and Redstone (more on that in a second). GameEd has more that just online classes, though. They also give you assignments to to build in a fun video game called Minecraft. For the Redstone class they assign "builds." Redstone is basically like electricity that can power blocks in the Minecraft game.

* Minecraft Weekly Meetup - I haven't started going to the MC meetup yet but I will start soon - when I get back from Australia. It is a weekly meetup with other homeschool kids at our local library.



Friends Here I list some of my friends and where I meet with them:

Nature Day - Finn, Des, Serene, Evangeline, Sasha, Kai, Raelynn, Brooklynn, Quinlynn,

Playdates - AH, AJ, Cassidy, Casey, Michelle, Izzy, Lauren.

Nature Class - Garter Snake, Owl, Mountain Goat.


If you want to hear more about me and my homeschool, check out my future blog posts.

Tom





52 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page